Great Lakes Home Renovations

Free Estimates
Click or Call Now:
952-204-9646

reviews

Job Completion Survey

We send a job completion survey to each customer after project completion. If customers give us permission to publish the reviews, we post them on this page.


Clear Filter
Deb. S.
Circle Pines, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Oct 13th, 2019
We are extremely pleased with the wonderful job Hassan and Andrew from Great Lakes Home Renovations did remodeling our bathroom. The project was started and completed exactly as scheduled. Hassan was very prompt and courteous. He is a very hard worker that pays close attention to every detail, ensuring that the project was done the way we wanted. The results exceeded our expectations!
James B.
Savage, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Oct 11th, 2019
Excellant workmanship by the installers. Very pleased with outcome. Would highly recommend.
Vicki H.
Claremount, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Oct 7th, 2019
Love the surround wall and the tub. Colors are awesome and everything looks so good together. Spenser was a great worker and listened to what I thought about things and helped with some of the decisions. Great all around job guys. Thanks
Lisa W.
Brooklyn Park, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Oct 7th, 2019
Kevin F.
St. Paul, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Sep 28th, 2019
There are many reasons why we would recommend Great Lakes Home Renovations for your next home improvement project, but here are the highlights. Professionalism: the crew was punctual, arriving on time and when necessary staying late to ensure a smooth installation process. Quality: the materials used are aesthetically pleasing as well as robust. Communication and transparency: Great Lakes Home Renovations makes an effort to work within the homeowner's budget by working within the homeowner's preferences and will suggest solutions to problems (such as meeting building codes) that may help the homeowner minimize costs during the project. If an unanticipated event arises during the project, the crew will contact the homeowner up front and discuss it in terms a layperson can understand so there are no surprises later. Attached are the before and after pictures of our project. Because of Great Lakes Home Renovations, we feel that we have truly added value to our home!
Connie
Bloomington, MN
5 Stars
Sep 4th, 2019
It was a pleasure to deal with this company from start to finish. We were extremely impressed with how professional our product manager Andrew was. We had clear communication at all times and everyone on the job was courteous and thoughtful. They did an amazing job of cleanup and we are very pleased with our new Onyx shower.
Bern Fleming
Lake Elmo, MN
4.5 Stars
Aug 21st, 2019
Tony was very professional. The bathroom looks much better.
Angie M.
Hastings, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Aug 20th, 2019
We had Joe install 9 windows and a door for us this past week. We are very happy with the work he did, the windows look great! Joe clearly cares about the work he does and it shows, he is very detailed and meticulous in his work. He was very knowledgeable, professional, on time, friendly and cleaned up well!! We have more windows to change out in the future and we’d love to have Joe do the work again! We highly recommend Joe and Great Lakes, they’ve been a fantastic company to work with!
Meghan H.
Eagan, MI
4.5 Stars
Aug 2nd, 2019
From the beginning we had a great experience with Great Lakes. Our sales guys was amazing!!! We had every window in our home replaced and a sliding glass door. There were a couple hiccups along the way- two windows were the wrong size and had to be reordered, but for the most part the project went fairly well. With all the rain we got this summer, Joe rescheduled the install a couple of times, we are pretty flexible so it wasn’t that big of a deal. However, when the final windows did get installed one of our security sensors got tossed. I reached out to our installer Joe, who we had had a great relationship with, and he told me he didn’t have it and didn’t see one anywhere and had already tossed the windows. So I called and left a message for Derek, still haven’t heard anything back. I’m slightly baffled... this isn’t that big of a deal, but it is something that is missing and we do need to figure out how we are going to get it replaced. I’m more frustrated that we were planning on redoing our entire kitchen and bathroom as well, but if communication is this hard when a tiny error occurs that nobody wants to take accountability for, I have a huge issue with that.
Meghan H.
Eagan, MI
4.5 Stars
Aug 2nd, 2019
From the beginning we had a great experience with Great Lakes. Our sales guys was amazing!!! We had every window in our home replaced and a sliding glass door. There were a couple hiccups along the way- two windows were the wrong size and had to be reordered, but for the most part the project went fairly well. With all the rain we got this summer, Joe rescheduled the install a couple of times, we are pretty flexible so it wasn’t that big of a deal. However, when the final windows did get installed one of our security sensors got tossed. I reached out to our installer Joe, who we had had a great relationship with, and he told me he didn’t have it and didn’t see one anywhere and had already tossed the windows. So I called and left a message for Derek, still haven’t heard anything back. I’m slightly baffled... this isn’t that big of a deal, but it is something that is missing and we do need to figure out how we are going to get it replaced. I’m more frustrated that we were planning on redoing our entire kitchen and bathroom as well, but if communication is this hard when a tiny error occurs that nobody wants to take accountability for, I have a huge issue with that.
David M
Stillwater, MN
5 Stars
Jul 27th, 2019
Tony did a great job, five stars. We love our new bathtub.
Bri D.
Rosemount, MN
5 Stars
Jul 26th, 2019
We had all our windows replaced last fall and now just got a new door from the house to the garage, Great Lakes home renovations has been amazing from picking out products to scheduling to the installation. Joe did our windows last fall and did our new door, he is friendly and knowledgeable- great with kids too (my 4 young ones were here and he wasn’t bothered by them at all)! I highly recommend this company and the products they sell! I will continue to use them for all home renovation needs!
David B
Plymouth, MN
5 Stars
Jul 22nd, 2019
Joe did an excellent job on the install and cleaned the work site very well. Professional and courteous. The windows are great and have improved both curb appeal and efficiency of our home. All this for a fair price.
Sandy Schmitt
Arden Hills, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 22nd, 2019
Joe was great from the moment he arrived til the end of the job! His professional and courteous friendly manner was much appreciated. He takes pride in his work and strives to satisfy the customer. Our two new sliding patio doors are gorgeous! We used Great Lakes Home Renovations for the remodel of two bathroom last fall. I would hire them again for any future projects. Their pricing is competitive. Thanks also to all staff who assisted us from estimate to design to scheduling and final installation.
Pam Wollum
Minneapolis, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 20th, 2019
Pam W.
Minneapolis, MN
5 Stars
Jun 19th, 2019
Our project is finished, and I totally recommend these guys. I found them at the Home Show in February 2019 when I was researching and comparing bath remodeling companies. I narrowed down my search to five companies, and then I had them all come out and give me estimates. In the end, I chose Great Lakes, and they were great before, during, and after the project.

The things that sold me on Great Lakes is that I liked the look and quality of the materials they use, I liked that Great Lakes has been around a long time, and I really liked the sales person's presentation. I felt secure and like I wasn't being snowed. Of course, like you're doing now, I read the reviews for them and the competitors online.

The project started on schedule... and finished on schedule and on budget. That's pretty miraculous for a remodeling project.

We completely remodeled the bathroom in our 1925 bungalow and added a half bath upstairs. We live in Minneapolis, where there are permits and inspections for everything.

A friend said we should save money and just hire a plumber, electrician, and carpenter directly ourselves instead of hiring a general contractor to oversee the work for us, but I knew I didn't know enough about what was involved to run the project myself. I also knew that if we did the work under the radar without the permits (which was sort of an unstated thing about hiring everyone myself) it would bite us later when we sold our house and had to disclose the work and THEN try to pass various inspections.

Before the project was over, we needed electricians--and an electrical permit and inspection, plumbers--and a plumbing permit and inspection, carpenters--and a structural permit and inspection. I didn't have to think about any of that. I found it challenging enough to choose the toilets, sinks, faucets, cabinets, and light fixtures and get those shipped and stored in our garage before the project started.

Great Lakes has really smart people working for them. We were especially fortunate to have a highly experienced Great Lakes project manager, Andrew, and Cities 1 Plumbing master plumber Jimmy Schuman assigned to the job. Great Lakes knew going in that the project was complicated. I didn't. I figured that since our bathroom was tiny it was a simple project. Wrong.

And here's something I didn't know before the project started and that's that real plumbers and electricians and carpenters can get better quality materials than a regular person shopping at Home Depot can. And they can get them fast, so if you discover that your light fixture isn't going to fit, which happened to me, you can choose another one that will work and they can get it out to the house later the same day.

It's tough and it's expensive to remodel your house. There's chaos everywhere while it's happening. Everyone assigned to our project by Great Lakes was a qualified professional. I don't think I would have known how to find those people on my own--and I am an Angie's List subscriber.

Good luck with your project!
Kellie Martinson
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 17th, 2019
Great honest people to work with!
Jenny Dang
Apple Valley, MN
4 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 16th, 2019
My husband and I recently bought a 70s home that turned out to be a DIY nightmare. One of the many issues was the basement French doors: bugs constantly getting in, incorrectly sealed, rotting frame, etc. I was very impressed with how quickly and professionally the installation went. It was just one guy and he finished in a couple hours. By the time I was able to get away and take some pictures the old door was out and the new one was going in. He was all finished and cleaned up right before my family came into town. I would rate them 5 stars, but I was not impressed with the sales pitch. I thought it was a lot of unnecessary demonstrations to promote the quality of the product. I found the contractor to be a lot more honest and knowledgable than the sales rep (not surprising).
Carol Felber
Bloomington, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 13th, 2019
Mike, from Great Lakes Home Renovations, is second to none. He’s highly skilled and goes the extra mile. He also has excellent tips and advice. You won’t be disappointed.
Lauree S
Apple Valley, MN
5 Stars
Jun 7th, 2019
Love love the whole window buying experience with everyone there. We could not be happier and will definitely look to the company for future projects and recommend you to anyone who asks.
Jerome Wittrock
Burnsville, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Jun 7th, 2019
Vicky H.
Minnetonka,
5 Stars
Jun 5th, 2019
We had all windows in our home replaced. Joe (with more than 10 years window install experience with Great Lakes) is a real star! On time, efficient, pleasant, hard working, and really knows what he’s doing. We couldn’t be happier with our new energy efficient windows, AND the install. Thanks to the whole Great Lakes team!
Jerome W
Burnsville, MN
5 Stars
Jun 4th, 2019
We had all new windows installed and I am really amazed at the quality of the product. The installer Joe did a great job. His attantion to detail is very impressive. The window is only as good as the installer and I am confident we made the right choice. I will Highly recommend them to everyone.
Eric Diller
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 31st, 2019
Had 6 windows installed in Apple Valley. Gary in sales is knowledgeable and respectful in finding out what a potential customer wants and helping them in their decision making, and our installer Joe was excellent, and was able to go above and beyond a normal install when one of our old windows was found to have caused water intrusion into a wall. Definitely will work with them when we are ready for the rest of our windows to be re-done.
Lynn Christensen
Spring Lake Park, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 30th, 2019
From start to finish, everyone from Great Lakes Home Renovation have been great to work with. Totally professional, very knowledgeable, personable, fun and funny. Travis and Travis were my installers. They did a phenomenal job. There are not enough descriptive words to describe how pleased I am. Both of them explained everything they were doing each day at the beginning of the day and at the end of the day. They were VERY respectful of my house and property, always making sure they cleaned up after themselves. Two great guys to work with. I reccomend this company very highly.
Roger H
Fridley, MN
5 Stars
May 28th, 2019
I am very impressed with Great Lakes their quality of work. The on-site installers were friendly and professional. Each day they cleaned up their work before leaving for the day. Hats off to Bob for taking the measurements and getting them exact. Andrew and Spencer were awesome with their attention to detail and their commitment to excellence. I would definitely use Great Lakes again when its time for my next remodel. Thank you all! I love my new master bath!
Janine Freeman
Eagan, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 22nd, 2019
Paula Bonneville
Elk, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 16th, 2019
The experience over all was wonderful. Jesse and Raul were fantastic! The communication was exemplary. They were personable, respectful, and knowledgeable. We felt safe having them in our home without us being there. We will definitely hire Great Lakes Home Renovations again for our next project.
Brad Jones
Shoreview, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 15th, 2019
So very happy with our bathroom renovation! Travis and Travis were very pleasant to work with and also meticulous workmanship. Job was suppose to take 4 days and only took three. They were very thoughtful and patient when we were deciding placement of different items. Would definitely recommend their work!
Sandy Baker
Maple Lake, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 8th, 2019
This was an all around great experience. Gary came out and presented what GLHR could do for our two showers in a professional manner. We decided to go with Great Lakes Home Renovations; we loved what we saw. The original time frame was approximately 12 weeks out, but we got a call and they were able to start in only about a month! Andrew and Spencer were a great team. The work is beautiful. I've included before and after photos so you can see what great work they do!
Jeff Moon
Sauk Rapids, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
May 6th, 2019
We like the finished product. Our installer, Hassan, was awesome- courteous, prompt, detail oriented and friendly.
Lola Nelson
Minneapolis, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Apr 23rd, 2019
Dealing with the Great Lakes employees remodeling our bathroom was a pleasure. They were communicative, pleasant and timely. As the job proceeded, they would keep us informed to what was being done daily, who would be on site (plumber, electrician, inspector) and approx time to finish. We would use them again.
Lynette Hovden
Owatonna,
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Apr 5th, 2019
Spencer was wonderful
Kara Thorson
Corcoran, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 30th, 2019
WOW! We were so impressed with Great Lakes Renovations. From the product sales to the measurer to the renovation crew. Everything was top notch. We won't go anywhere else for our home improvement needs.
Mike Sanford
Richfield, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 27th, 2019
I had my master bath shower replaced and am glad I went with this company. The sales guy informed me of how the process would work from start to finish. The guys who did the remodel (Hassan and Mike) were fabulous. They were very easy going and worked within my schedule. Plus they made sure everything was cleaned after they were done working. The only disappointment I had was from my own doing. I was steadfast in the color scheme but after the project was completed I probably should have listened to my salesman (Gary). But overall, I am very pleased with the service and would recommend them to anyone who is looking to do a remodel. I will go with these guys again.
George Fritz
Morristown,
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 26th, 2019
I will recommend Great Lakes to all. The work is great and fast. The men where real professional . Thanks, George Fritz.
Robert M
Fridley, MN
5 Stars
Mar 24th, 2019
Hassan was our service tech and from beginning to end he did a superior job. If there was any changes to be made he would tell us and the reason why. Everyday when he was done with his work he would clean up the shower area so you wouldn't even know he was there working. You are very fortunate to have a skilled person such as Hassan working for your company he was very meticulous as he went about his work and the finished product reflects his skill. I will use GLHR for future projects and will request that Hassan do the work.
Robert O.
Maplewood, MN
4.5 Stars
Mar 23rd, 2019
Hassan was not on team member list.
EXCELLENT JOB really nice!!!
Renee Powell-Matt
White Bear Lake, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 13th, 2019
Joe did an awesome job Installing our windows. He was very friendly knowledgeable and always willing to explain everything as he worked. Richard and I are hundred percent satisfied and would for sure pass a good word on to others who may need windows!!
Ming Gerlach
Eden Praire, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 13th, 2019
Great Lakes team completed a bathroom update project. The entire process including requirements and quoting, design, scheduling and installation went very smoothly. Each person I worked with was very professional and detail oriented. Project was completed on time and within budget, and we are truly enjoying our new shower, tub and vanity! Thank you Great Lakes team!
Brenda Davis
Woodbury, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 7th, 2019
Just had our bathroom redone with Great Lakes and it looks great. We had a good experience with them. Everybody we worked with was friendly and helpful. I didn't want tile (I loathe cleaning grout) and their acrylic options fit exactly what I wanted within our budget. The guys that did the work were quick, clean, and friendly. We changed a tub to a shower, did new flooring, toilet and vanity, and they were done in 3 days.
Adrian Seymour
Burnsville, MN
5 Stars
Posted on Google
Mar 7th, 2019
We just had a new front window installed yesterday. Joe was very personable and did a great job! We are very satisfied with our new window.
Holly Collins
Owatonna, MN
4 Stars
Posted on Google
Feb 17th, 2019
Jackie L.
Andover, MN
4.5 Stars
Oct 28th, 2018
Travis our installer did a great job! He installed a bath wrap in our shower stall and an onyx counter top in the bathroom. Travis took pride in his work and it showed- it turned out beautiful. He was a very nice guy- joy to have at the house.
Larry S
Apple Valley, MN
5 Stars
Oct 26th, 2018
Our experience with a patio door install could not have been better, from ordering to install. Joe arrived on time, removed old and installed new door in record time. He was friendly and very knowledgeable of the product he was installing. Once installed he flawlessly installed custom trim and did the best cleanup I’ve ever experienced. We will have him back for a front door install in the near future.
Kevin M
Richfield, MN
5 Stars
Jul 30th, 2018
Our bathroom remodel was completed on time and to our satisfaction. We've had a couple of follow-up requests and have received great service, even after we signed off on the project. Our project lead, Joe, is very professional, but personable. He started each day by explaining what he was going to work on, and asked us if we had any questions or specific direction for him to follow (placement of towel bars, soap dish, etc) He made sure he was doing things the way WE wanted it done. He offered his opinion on a couple of things where he thought he could improve on our ideas, but didn't make us feel 'stupid'! Overall, a great job!
Paul Y.
St. Anthony Village, MN
5 Stars
Jul 28th, 2018
Thoroughly professional outfit, top to bottom, and top quality products. They just finished replacing all of the windows in our house with Sunrise Restoration windows, and we are thrilled with the end product. If you are in the market for new windows, do yourself a favor and give Great Lakes Home Renovations a call.
Janet Goossens
Saint Paul, MN
5 Stars
May 17th, 2018
Jesse was very professional and courteous. Called prior to arriving which was helpful. Very knowledgeable on renovation/installation of new bathrooms. Gave me a timeline the first day and it was adhered to. Would highly recommend this company.
Kay Larson
Becker, MN
5 Stars
Apr 12th, 2018
Wow! Tony and Andrew were excellent- Had Onyx shower and vanity tops installed and they did a better job than the original builder.
Rick T
Stanley, WI
5 Stars
Mar 2nd, 2018
Are installer Travis was great. He did an excellent job.

Page: 1 2 3 4 5 6 >> 
Great Lakes Home Renovations Reviews
5 Stars
4.93 out of 5 stars based on 298 customer reviews.

Review Central

Why Choose Us?

We have been exceeding the expectations of Greater Twin Cities Area homeowners since 1995 by offering the highest quality products and service at the best possible value.

Dan and Mary Brouillet started Great Lakes Home Renovations out of their Lakeville home in 1995. The business and team quickly grew and eventually expanded into a showroom in Apple Valley in 2000. During the early days, Dan and Mary developed a vision; to create a home improvement experience that’s unrivaled by delivering only the highest quality products and service.

Our team understands that the process of remodeling a bathroom can be daunting. With all the different options and details, it’s hard to know where to begin. That’s where we come in. We understand the challenges of bathroom remodeling and have the skills and experience to come up with a design plan that fits each homeowners’ unique needs and help minimize the impact of living in a house that is under improvement.

Latest Testimonials

Contact Us Today

Contact us today to find our project specialists, sales representatives & service technicians that are here to help!

Our Showroom

14690 Galaxie Avenue, Suite 100
Apple Valley, MN 55124

Business Hours

Monday - Thursday 8am to 5pm
Friday - 8am to 4pm
Saturday - 9am to 1pm
Sunday - Closed
Free In-home Consultations by appointment